What I hope this blog to be about

I have tried my hand at blogging before, in multiple capacities, and, for one stretch, managed to keep one going for over a year. Over time I’ve come to miss the feeling of having a creative outlet, having a space in which to put down some of my thoughts and to reflect on my own life and my engagement with the world around me. I think this is the major benefit of blogging, and the reason I decided to return to it.

I’m currently in the final year of my degree, a 4-year-turned-5-year course in Classics at the University of Oxford, and as a result of that facing the inevitable decisions about what I am going to do after graduation and where I am going to end up. I have thought about taking on a PGCE, a masters in Ancient history, social work, the civil service, librarianship, and so on and so forth. However, I find myself coming back again and again to the idea of teaching. It is something which occupied most of my volunteerism at Oxford, and also the career which my current work experience most easily leads into. At the minute, I am hoping to pursue a career in teaching English as a foreign language, probably, for starters, somewhere in Europe. To this end I have applied for an assistantship with the British Council in Germany, but, being a graduate and non-language student, I am bottom of the pile. And so, I am thinking seriously about other options.

In the future I hope to use this blog mainly to discuss some of the aspects of the processes for teaching abroad, and aspects of the lifestyle which come with it. For now, I’m hoping to use this as an outlet for reflecting on my last two terms at Oxford and the process of sitting finals. My hope is that this blog can become a useful resource for those who feel drawn to pursuing a similar lifestyle to the one I do.

4 thoughts on “What I hope this blog to be about

Leave a Reply

